Computer Vision

Computer Vision

To 'see' not only involves taking an image, but also understanding that image: judging distances, interpreting facial expressions and anticipating objects' movements, for example. Computer vision research aims to create intelligent systems that can see and understand a scene as well as humans can—or better, in the case of autonomous driving, medical imaging, defence and aerospace projects, environmental monitoring, manufacturing and surveillance.

We conduct innovative and fundamental research, focused on multiple-view geometry, 3D modelling, dynamic-scene understanding, machine learning and pattern recognition. Globally, we are the 'centre of excellence' for this kind of research. We research novel theories and algorithms, and develop artificial vision systems that extract useful information from images and video sequences to perform wide-ranging tasks, from enabling blind people to see with the aid of a bionic eye, to quickly building a 3D model of a city. Through the establishment of the ARC Centre for Robotics Vision at ANU and other Australian institutions, our academics and research students have access to cutting-edge facilities and resources to explore new ideas and technologies.   

Explore our available student research projects below and if you’d like to discuss opportunities for collaboration or funding, please email us.

Student research projects

Research projects

Academic staff

Mr Thalaiyasingam Ajanthan »

Research Fellow

Assoc Professor Nick Barnes »

Associate Professor

Dr Itzik Ben-Shabat »

Research Fellow

Ami Dory

Dr Ami Drory »


Professor Stephen Gould »


Distinguished Professor Richard Hartley »

Distinguished Professor


Dr. Md Zakir Hossain »

Research Fellow, Lecturer

Dr Salman Khan »

Adjunct Lecturer

Dr Piotr Koniusz »

Senior Adjunct, Senior Honorary Lecturer, Senior Research Scientist

Dr Artem Lenskiy »

Fellow Academic

Professor Hongdong Li

Hongdong Li »

Professor, Computer Vision |Machine Learning |Robotics |AI , Associate School Director (Research), ANU RSEEME, Chief Investigator for ARC CoE ACRV, IEEE T-PAMI Editor

Dr Miaomiao Liu »

Lecturer, ARC DECRA Fellow

Robert Mahony

Professor Robert Mahony »


Professor Fatih Porikli »


Mrs Fatemeh Sadat Saleh »

Research Fellow

Jochen Trumpf

Assoc Professor Jochen Trumpf »

Director, Software Innovation Institute

Dr Liang Zheng »

Lecturer, ARC DECRA Fellow, CS Futures Fellow


Khurrum Aftab

Mr Khurrum Aftab »

PhD Student

Ashkan Amirsadri

Mr Ashkan Amirsadri »

PhD Student

Mr James Charters »

PhD Student

Mr Vincent Cheng »

PhD Student

Mr Arif Chowdhury »

PhD Student

Huizhong Deng

Mr Huizhong Deng »

M Phil

David Feng

Mr David Feng »

PhD student

Lin Gu

Mr Lin Gu »

PhD Candidate

Mr Kartik Gupta »

PhD Student

Pan Ji

Mr Pan Ji  »

Ph.D student

Mr Gerard Kennedy  »

PhD Student

Mr Junxuan Li »

PhD Candidate

Mr Shidi Li »

PhD Student

Ms Lin Li »

PhD Student

Buyu Liu

Ms Buyu Liu »

PhD student

Mr Lingqiao Liu

Mr Lingqiao Liu »

PhD Student

Mr Yao Lu »

PhD Student

Ilya Magafurov

Mr Ilya Magafurov »

PhD Student

Yansheng Ming

Mr Yansheng Ming  »

PhD student

Mr Farlin Mohideen

Mr Farlin Mohideen »

PhD student

Mr Muhammad Muzammal Naseer »

PhD Student

Mr Sean O'Brien »

PhD Student

Kyoungup Park

Mr Kyoungup Park »

PhD Student

Kukulage Nomal Samunda Perera

Mr Samunda Perera »

PhD student

Mr Amir Rahimi »

PhD Student

Sejuti Rahman

Ms Sejuti Rahman »

PhD Student

Mr Hanif Rasyidi »

PhD student

Photo of Cedric Scheerlinck

Mr Cedric Scheerlinck AFHEA »

PhD student

Adnan Shah

Mr Adnan Shah »

PhD Student

Christian Simon »

PhD Candidate

Pieter van Goor »

PhD Student

Mr Lei Wang »

PhD Student

Tao Wang

Mr Tao Wang »

PhD Student

Song Wang

Mr Song Wang »

PhD Candidate

Fang Wang

Ms Fang Wang »

PhD Candidate

Mr Zhiwei Xu »

PhD Student

Mr Mohammad Zamani »

PhD Student

Mr Frederic Zhang  »

PhD Student

Mr Kaihao Zhang »

PhD Student

Yi Zhou

Mr Yi Zhou »

PhD Student

Gao Zhu

Mr Gao Zhu »

PhD student


Dr Jose M. Alvarez »

Honorary Lecturer (Level B)

Dr Mehrtash Harandi »


Dr Xuming He »

Adjunct Fellow

Dr Nianjun Liu »


Dr Chris McCarthy »

Research fellow (adjunct)

Dr Lars Petersson »


Dr Antonio Robles-kelly

Dr Antonio Robles-kelly »

Adjunct Associate Professor

Dr Mathieu Salzmann »

Honoary Staff Member

Dr Karim Seghouane »

Senior Researcher


Xuelian Cheng »

Occupational Trainee

Mr Xiaofeng Han »

Occupational Trainee

Dr Fredrik Kahl

Dr Fredrik Kahl »

School Visitor

Mrs Noha Khattab »

Occupational Trainee

Mr Liu Liu »

Occupational Trainee

Mr Gucan Long

Mr Gucan Long »

Occupational Trainee

Mrs Liyuan Pan »

Ph.D student

Liyuan Pan »

Campus Visitor

Mr Xibin Song »

Campus Visitor

Dr Jianhua Wang

Dr Jianhua Wang »

Visiting Fellow

Mr Yurui Xie

Mr Yurui Xie »

Occupational Trainee

Lili Yang »

Occupational Trainee

Mr Ximing Zhang »

Occupational Trainee

Technical staff

Dr Tao Hu »

Research Assistant

19 May 2017
The Australian National University (ANU) welcomes the ACT Government’s announcement of a new research partnership involving ANU and the private sector to help make...

Updated:  1 June 2019/Responsible Officer:  Head of School/Page Contact:  CECS Marketing